The Alamo

The only shape that is more iconic than the shape of the Alamo is Texas itself. However, the Alamo was not that shape originally. The iconic bell shape was done while the U.S. Army occupied the site in the years after Texas joined the United States in 1846. The church was built in 1744, it was originally planned to have two towers and a second floor but there was a flaw in the design or just poor construction as the towers and second floor collapsed in upon itself in 1756. It was never used for religious services after that and only partially repaired. By 1836, it was used only for storage. The roof was gone and the apse area contained a three cannon emplacement that was built by the Mexican Army and later used by the Texians during the siege and battle in 1836. Originally known as the Mission San Antonio de Valero, the Alamo, began as a Catholic mission and compound in 1718. The Alamo was the first of five missions to be built in the San Antonio area.
To continue reading this article, purchase the print edition of The Pittsburg Gazette or go to our online e-edition at: http://www.etypeservices.com/Pittsburg%20GazetteID315/default.aspx
- Log in to post comments